WA Heavy Vehicle Accreditation (WAHVA)

WAHVA is mandatory for anyone requiring a permit or order to perform any transport task within Western Australia, including interstate operators.

Three mandatory modules make up the the accreditation requirements and are required to be incorporated into daily work practices.

One additional optional module - Mass Management Module (PDF, 522 KB) - is only required if an operator wishes to operate within the Accredited Mass Management Scheme (AMMS).

The WAHVA Business Rules (PDF, 456 KB)  have been developed to assist you become and maintain your heavy vehicle accreditation. 

Third Party Accreditation

A Sub Contractor may operate under an Accredited Operators (AO) accreditation under conditions specified in the Western Australia Heavy Vehicle Accreditation Business Rules.

For a Sub-contractor to be able to operate under another operator’s accreditation the following must occur:

  1. The sub-contractor or operator must complete A Third Party Accreditation Authorisation Form (PDF, 367 KB)
  2. The form must include the vehicle(s) registration number and driver’s name(s).
  3. The form must include the accredited operator’s details.
  4. The form must be signed by the Accredited Operators nominated primary contact.
  5. When the form has been completed it is to be sent to:
  6. We will confirm when the sub-contractor has been included under the operator’s accreditation.
Please see our Subcontractor - Operating on another operators accreditation (Word doc, 82 KB)  fact sheet for further information about this process.

Check the accreditation status of an individual or business.

Check accreditation status

MOVES Account

Login to your MOVES account to manage your fleet and apply and pay for permits.

Log in to MOVES

Who requires Accreditation?

Accreditation in WA is mandatory for anyone that: Operates B-Double or Road Train Configurations; or Operates Truck & Trailer combinations over 42.5 tonnes gross mass; or Requires more than four single trips (oversize or overmass) per calendar year; or Operates under concessional loading scheme; or Requires an annual Permit or Notice; or Operates a RAV exceeding a width of 2.5 metres; or Operates a RAV exceeding a height of 4.3 metres; or Operates a RAV exceeding a length of 19 metres; and Operators who perform, transport tasks for hire or reward

Who is Exempt?

What classification of vehicle is exempt from accreditation requirements in WA? Buses; Special Purpose Vehicles (SPV); Agricultural Equipment; Vehicles that have a gross mass (GVM) of eight tonne or less; Recreational Boat Trailers.

Steps for accreditation...

Acknowledgement of country

The Government of Western Australia acknowledges the traditional custodians throughout Western Australia and their continuing connection to the land, waters and community. We pay our respects to all members of the Aboriginal communities and their cultures; and to Elders both past and present.

Tell us what you think

Help us improve our website by sharing your thoughts and suggestions.

Provide feedback