Vehicle Classes



Class 1 RAVs

Class 1 Restricted Access Vehicles (RAVs) are:

  • special purpose vehicles (i.e. cranes);
  • agricultural machines or implements;
  • vehicles carrying or designed to carry large indivisible items;

that are not:

  • road trains or b-doubles;

which together with their loads exceed a regulation mass or dimension limit.


Common RAV Class 1 vehicles include:

  • Prime-movers with semi-trailer (including low-loaders) - with or without a dolly - that are carrying an item and are oversize or over-mass;
  • Platforms, trailers;
  • Cranes;
  • Tractors and road-going earthmoving equipment. 


Pictures of typical Class 1 RAVs



Class 2 RAVs

  • B-doubles (that meet the Road Traffic (Vehicles) Regulations 2014);
  • Road trains (that meet the Road Traffic (Vehicles) Regulations 2014);
  • Vehicle transporters not more than 4.6 metres in height;
  • Livestock carrying vehicles not more than 4.6 metres in height. 


Pictures of typical Class 2 RAVs





Class 3 RAVs

Class 3 RAVs are all of those RAVs that are not Class 1 or Class 2 and include:

  • Class 2 RAVs that are oversize or over-mass;
  • Class 2 RAVs that are concessionally loaded. 


Pictures of typical Class 3 RAVs




Modified: 12 Jun 2015